Australia Asia Pacific

Torres Strait Sustainable Land Use Plans, QLD

Torres Strait Sustainable Land Use Plans, QLD

RPS has prepared Sustainable Land Use Plans for the 15 communities of the Torres Strait Islands - Boigu, Saibai, Dauan, Yorke, Yam & Darnley, Hammond, Badu, Kubin, St Pauls, Mabuiag, Poruma, Warraber, Ugar and Mer.

The aim of the project was to help ensure that planning for the future development of the Torres Strait Islands would be sustainable and consider ecological and social information, risk and existing infrastructure.

Due to RPS' extensive work in these remote communities over many years, we understood the critical importance of local input in the development of successful land use plans. To better facilitate community consultation, our team used 3D replica models of the islands, which the residents could immediately relate to. This assisted the community to understand their particular issues, manage their land use, and protect their natural resources for the future.

For more information about the project please contact us via our contact form.